New child protection laws in Tennessee go into effect July 1; Statute of Limitations

TENNESSEE (WJHL) – Several new laws aiming to protect children from sexual predators and human trafficking are set to take effect July 1 in Tennessee.   The laws include major legislation removing the statute of limitations for felony sex crimes against children in certain circumstances.

The new law applies if the victim is under the age of 13 or ages 13 to 17 years old when the crime occurred and is reported before their 23rd birthday.

If victims were 13 to 17 years old and did not report before their 23rd birthday, the statute of limitations is 25 years from their 18th birthday.

Source: WJHL Website.

Read more: Hands free to child protection: New laws in Tennessee go into effect July 1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s